Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019 was the final meeting for longtime Kent City Councilmember Dennis Higgins, who is retiring from the council.

Since Councilmember Higgins was appointed to fill a vacancy for Position No. 7 in 2017, his term ends before the end of the year.

Higgins first joined the council in Jan., 2010, and in 2017 was appointed to take over the council seat vacated by Dana Ralph when she was elected Mayor.

“Councilmember Higgins and I started our relationship by running against each other for a seat on the City Council,” Mayor Ralph said. “That turned into a 10 year friendship where it became very apparent that his heart and soul had ‘Kent’ written all over it. There were times where we disagreed on policy, but we had respectful and professional debate and then voted in a way we felt was best for our constituents.”

Born and raised in Spokane, Higgins moved to Kent in 1995 after graduating from the University of Washington. He works in the Geographic Information Systems field for King County.

Dennis and his wife Karyn have three daughters.

Dennis has been very passionate about and active in Kent schools., is a two-time winner of the Golden Acorn Award, and was named an Outstanding Advocate by the Kent Area PTSA.

Higgins has served on various committees, including:

  • King County Regional Transit Committee through the Sound Cities Association: former member
  • Kent Lodging Tax Advisory Committee: former membe
  • Kent School District Citizens’ Facilities Planning Committee: member
  • Citizens’ Boundary Review Committee: member
  • Citizens for Kent Schools: former Chair and is still active in the community organization that supports Kent School District levy/bond election campaigns

Ralph added:

“Councilmember Higgins spent time listening to residents, learning from staff and then dedicated himself to delivering results for all of us. For his dedication, persistence, compassion and friendship – I will always be grateful. Thank you for being an exemplary public servant and dedicating a decade to Kent.”

Higgins will be succeeded in Position No. 7 by Zandria Michaud.

Here’s a video tribute to Higgins:

Happy Trails Dennis!

Scott Schaefer

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...