Highline is one of nine community colleges in the country to receive the honor.

For the fourth year in a row, Highline College in Des Moines, Washington has been honored with the Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) award. HEED is a national award recognizing U.S. colleges and universities that show an outstanding commitment to diversity and inclusion. Highline is one of two schools in Washington to win the award, and one of only nine community colleges overall to receive the HEED award. Whitworth University in Spokane also won.

Given by Insight Into Diversity magazine, the HEED Award is presented annually to institutions demonstrating initiatives that embrace all aspects of diversity, including gender, race, ethnicity, veterans, people with disabilities and members of the LGBTQ community.

Insight into Diversity magazine, November 2016 issue
Photo Courtesy of Insight into Diversity magazine

“While we look at numbers and expect continued improvement for those schools that receive the HEED Award year after year, we also use a holistic approach in reviewing each application. Our standards are high, and we look for institutions where diversity and inclusion are woven into the work being accomplished every day across their campus,” said Lenore Pearlstein, publisher of Insight Into Diversity magazine, in a press release.

Highline is the most racially and ethnically diverse higher education institution in the state of Washington, with 70 percent students of color and people representing more than 120 cultures.

“We have enjoyed extraordinary recognitions from Insight Into Diversity and other organizations in recent years reflecting our innovative initiatives that improve student success and engage our communities. I hope that this wonderful award enhances the pride that our students feel about the quality of their own educational accomplishments,” said Dr. Jack Bermingham, Highline’s president.

In addition to Highline College, there were 82 other recipients of the 2016 HEED Award:

Anne Arundel Community College

Arizona Summit Law School

Augusta University

Ball State University

California State University, East Bay

California State University, Fresno

California State University, Northridge

California State University, San Marcos

Capital Community College

Case Western Reserve University

Central Michigan University

Cleveland State University

Columbia University in the City of New York

Cuyahoga Community College

Davenport University

DePaul University

East Carolina University

Eastern Kentucky University

Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

El Paso County Community College District

Florida Coastal School of Law

Florida State University

Framingham State University

Georgia Institute of Technology

Georgia State University

Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District

Houston Community College

Indiana University-Bloomington

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Kansas State University

Kennesaw State University

Kent State University

Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Miami Dade College

Millersville University

Northeastern University

Northern Arizona University

Northern Virginia Community College

Oklahoma State University

Pennsylvania State University, The

Rochester Institute of Technology

Saint Louis University

San Diego State University

School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Seminole State College of Florida

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Southwestern Law School

St. Cloud State University

Stockton University

SUNY Buffalo State College

SUNY System Administration

Texas Tech University

Union College in New York

University of Alabama at Birmingham

University of Central Florida

University of Cincinnati

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Georgia

University of Houston

University of Houston Law Center

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Louisville

University of Maryland University College

University of Massachusetts Boston

University of Massachusetts Lowell

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of North Florida

University of Oklahoma

University of South Carolina

University of Texas at Austin, The

University of Toledo, The

University of Vermont

University of Virginia

University of West Florida

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

West Virginia University

Western Michigan University

Whitworth University

Widener University

Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2014, at Highline Community College in Des Moines, Wash.
Photo courtesy of Highline College

Dana Neuts

I am a full-time freelance writer, editor, marketing pro and the publisher of iLoveKent.net.