The project lists for two of the Puget Sound Regional Council’s funding programs have been released for public comment through March 24, 2022.

Nine projects – including in Kent – have been recommended for $13.5 million in Transportation Alternative Program funding. This program funds community-based transportation improvements such as bicycle and pedestrian facilities, historic preservation of transportation assets, environmental mitigation, and more. The projects are located in Bellevue, Bothell, Bremerton, Kent, Lynnwood, SeaTac, Shoreline, Tacoma, and Tukwila (view detailed list here).

The Kent project will convert Meeker Street – from 200 east of 64th Ave S. to 750 feet east of 64th Ave S. – from a five-lane roadway to a two-lane roadway with on-street parking on both sides of the street and a separated two-way bicycle path on the south side of the street. The project also includes pedestrian-scale lighting, median islands, landscaping and a mid-block pedestrian crossing with rapid flashing beacons.

Eight projects have been recommended for $5.48 million in Rural Town Centers and Corridors Program funding. The program funds projects supporting smaller towns and cities in rural areas of the region. The projects are located in Carnation, King County, Kitsap County, North Bend, Orting, Snohomish, Stanwood, and Sultan (view detailed list here).

Both recommendations include prioritized contingency lists of projects if additional funds become available.

How to make a comment:

The public comment period will run from February 10 to March 24, 2022.

Public comments received by March 3 will be provided to the Transportation Policy Board before it makes a recommendation to the Executive Board.

The Executive Board is expected to finalize the project lists at its meeting on March 24.

PSRC develops policies and coordinates decisions about regional growth, transportation and economic development planning within King, Kitsap, Pierce and Snohomish counties. It is composed of nearly 100 jurisdictions, including all four counties, cities and towns, ports, state and local transportation agencies and Tribal governments within the region.

Scott Schaefer

Founder/Publisher/Editor. Three-time National Emmy Award winning Writer (“Bill Nye the Science Guy”), Director, Producer, Journalist and more...